Who We Are

The Japan-Canada Academic Consortium is an outcome of the Canada-Japan University Rectors Roundtable which took place at York University in Toronto in November 2004. In November 2006, Meiji University approached York University with a formal proposal to develop this binational consortium; since then, the Prince Takamado Japan Centre at the University of Alberta has taken on the role of Canadian secretariat for the Consortium. Currently, there are 10 Canadian universities and 11 Japanese universities that are members of the Consortium.